How to prioritize product hypotheses based on unit economics: examining examples

Product managers always have more to do than resources. New challenges come from all directions - from designers to marketers to CEOs. But if you take into work everything in a row, there is a risk of getting at the output not what is needed for the development of the project, but what was β€œfor fun” by some of the colleagues. So, the co-founder of KISSmetrics, Hiten Shah, admitted that his company lost its position in the market precisely because of prioritization mistakes. As soon as he had new ideas, subordinates had to drop everything and start working on them. At that time there was no question of a thoughtful distribution of forces. While the team was trying to keep up with the leader, competitors took over the market and released new products.





We will tell you how to prevent this development of events using simple techniques for prioritizing hypotheses. Generally speaking, this topic is often raised at specialized conferences and seminars. For example, Matt Bilotti, Product Manager at Drift, the # 6 fastest growing online marketing platform by Deloitte, shared his perspective on how unit economics can prioritize hypotheses at Epic Growth SEASONS. He explained the benefits of the approach and how it can be used in the workplace.





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Source: unsplash.com

ICE Problem Scoring Method and Its Neighbors

β€” : , , . β€” β€” . , , - . .





ICE β€” (Impact), (Confidence), (Effort). , Β«Growth HackingΒ». β€” : , ICE Score:





ICE Score = Impact*Confidence*Effort.





β€” . - , β€” . , , ICE, , .





, RICE β€” (Reach), (Impact), (Confidence), (Effort) β€” . 





RICE Score = (Reach*Impact*Confidence) / Effort.





, , . , . ( , , ):





  • 3 β€” ;





  • 2 β€” ;





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  • 0,5 β€” ;





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. , ? ? , Google Microsoft. , Confidence ( , , , , UX , .). , - . .





, , , ( 1 3). , , , MVP, A/B- , ( 3 7). 





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: unsplash.com

, , . - . , Netflix DHM-, :





  • D β€” delight;





  • H β€” hard to copy;





  • M β€” margin.





, . , ? ? ? , Netflix , DHM-, β€” .





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: unsplash.com





Ducalis.io , .   ICE, RICE, DHM, : REAN (Reach, Engage, Activate, Nurture), North Star , (Effort Matrix), AARRR . 





Drift, , ICE . , Dropbox, Facebook Messenger, Head of Growth Airtable. EVELYN.





EVELYN Template bit.ly/evelyn-airtable
EVELYN bit.ly/evelyn-airtable

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UA β€”





Marketing costs β€”





C1 β€”





Buyers β€”





AvP β€”





ARPC β€” ( )





ARPU β€”





ARPPU β€”  





CAC β€” . 





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β€” . , , :





β€” , ( ) (a);





β€” (b);





β€” , , (c);





β€” , (d).





:





Value per Day = (a * b * c) / d.





From Matt Bilotti's presentation at Epic Growth SEASONS
Epic Growth SEASONS

, β€” ARPU, , $1. , . , , ARPU $1, $20. , opportunity size .  





, 70%. 0,7. , . : Value per Day = ($1*20*0,7)/2 = $7. 





, Value per Day , N . Value per Day , , ($7*2) , ( , ). 





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: unsplash.com

, Value per Day , , . . , . , , . .





Epic Growth SEASONS









RICE Intercom





Netflix's DHM Approach to Hypothesis Prioritization 





Daniil Khanin's blog about unit economics








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